About Me

My name is Steve. I am a Principal Engineer at Relativity and an Adjunct Professor of Software Engineering at DePaul University.

My primary area of responsibility at Relativity is the storage system behind RelativityOne, Relativity’s cloud-based software-as-a-service e-Discovery product. I have designed and implemented a number of components in both the structured (SQL) and unstructured (object / file) storage backends. Before Relativity, I worked in the financial industry for 15 years, primarily for the financal research firm Morningstar. I am a CFA charterholder, but I rarely use these skills professionally nowadays.

At DePaul, I teach three courses: SE 480: Software Architecture I, SE 457: Service-Oriented Architecture, and SE 441: Continuous Delivery and DevOps. I have been teaching at DePaul since 2017.

For more about my professional history, please visit my LinkedIn profile.

I have blogged on-and-off since 2004. Over the last 15+ years, I have published a number of blog post series and projects on this website. I also have a number of open source projects on GitHub.

Recent Blog Posts

Thursday 2024-04-25 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-25
Thursday 2024-04-25 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Thursday, April 25:

Wednesday 2024-04-24 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-24
Wednesday 2024-04-24 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Wednesday, April 24:

Tuesday 2024-04-23 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-23
Tuesday 2024-04-23 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Tuesday, April 23:

Monday 2024-04-22 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-22
Monday 2024-04-22 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Monday, April 22:

Friday 2024-04-19 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-19
Friday 2024-04-19 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Friday, April 19:

Thursday 2024-04-18 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-18
Thursday 2024-04-18 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Thursday, April 18:

Wednesday 2024-04-17 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-17
Wednesday 2024-04-17 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Wednesday, April 17:

Tuesday 2024-04-16 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-16
Tuesday 2024-04-16 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Tuesday, April 16:

Monday 2024-04-15 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-15
Monday 2024-04-15 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Monday, April 15:

Friday 2024-04-12 Assorted Links
Assorted Links links
Published: 2024-04-12
Friday 2024-04-12 Assorted Links

Assorted links for Friday, April 12: